Bible Study, Anyone?

Starting from the beginning…

“For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.”

– Hebrews 4:12

Have you found yourself wondering what the bible REALLY says about certain topics? Maybe you’ve heard a lot of debate about what scripture really says or what it really means. I know I have… I’d love to get to know the Bible with open eyes, an open heart and an open mind. If you’d like to join me for open discussion, I’d LOVE to have friends with whom to share in this adventure!

It may seem crazy that I’m wanting to tackle something so grand as the Bible. It’s a big book… And confession time: I’ve never actually read from cover to cover. Although there are probably many people that are in that same position, I’ve decided that I want to change that for myself… I love God, but I want to have a closer relationship with His word. I want to have a greater confidence in myself and my beliefs when I’m discussing the BIG ideas with friends, family, and anyone who wants to talk! I also want to make sure that I am living in line with God’s word (as much as possible – obviously a few things have changed since the period in which the Bible was written – we’ll discuss some of the historical significance and happenings also to clarify certain parts of the text).

“Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.”

– James 1:22

Thankfully, I am truly blessed to be married to a Godly man. Ernesto and I have grown closer together in our faith over the last year and our marriage has flourished because of it… I’m just ready to take the next step! Ernesto knows so much about scripture. If I have an idea of a lesson I’d like to teach my Sunday school class, he’s all over it! He’ll find me specific passages of scripture easily! His memory amazes and inspires me. You want to find a way to grow closer in your marriage? Do a project together… Do a bible study. Read passages together and discuss what they mean to you – what you take away – what you find to be amazing, inspiring, helpful in everyday life. You’ll see a change in your marriage soon after.

For the Lord gives wisdom; from his mouth come knowledge and understanding.

– Proverbs 2:6

The Bible is like a handbook of life – filled with infinite wisdom and guidance. If you want to know how to navigate any situation in life, I’m fairly certain, the answer can be found (directly or indirectly) in the Bible.

Ernesto and I are going to read the first two or three chapters of Genesis tonight. I’ll create a new post in the next few days (or tomorrow if I’m feeling super productive!) outlining our takeaways and open discussion. We’d love it if you would join us and read along! If you are following my blog, feel free to read the passages and send me YOUR thoughts. Your thoughts matter! I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks and God bless!

Britanny

Leave a Reply

