Musical Muse Series

A follow-up to my “Music can change your life…” post.

If you liked my post about how “Music can change your life…“, you might like this new series…


I’ve loved music my entire life… I’ve always loved singing, but was too afraid to sing in front of crowds, so that passion has only been shared with my friends and family… I sing in the shower, in the car, while I’m cooking, and to/with my children at night… I sing ALL the time! Sometimes, it’s Disney classics, like “Part Of Your World” from The Little Mermaid or our current favorite in the house, “How Far I’ll Go” from Moana… But lately, I’ve had a different kind of tune stuck in my head… I’d like to share some of these tunes with you! See, these songs are encouraging, heart-warming, positive and uplifting… They oftentimes dig deep into a lot of the issues that each of us deals with on a daily basis. Really, these songs are like little devotionals, wrapped up in a beautiful melody. If you’re looking for some new music to enrich your life, you may want to stick around for this series! The blog posts will be titled “Musical Muse: ….” and the name of a song. I could do posts by band, but there are some bands that have consistently produced many AMAZING songs, and each song that I will discuss stands on its own.

Open your hearts and minds. These songs make me cry (nearly) every single time I hear them. Why? Because my heart is a welcome home to the Holy Spirit and I am unashamed of the raw emotion that can take place during my encounters with God. And I haven’t always been this way – open to the Holy Spirit, that is… I used to try to suppress those feelings and gentle nudges… I used to try to hide how much I could feel… You know how that is, right? You can get overwhelmed with emotion to the point that you feel tears welling up in your eyes, but this feeling of embarrassment comes over you and you hope that no one notices that you were moved so deeply… But why are we embarrassed by immense emotion? Since I decided to fully open my heart to God, I feel more confident in saying, bring it on… I am not ashamed! You’ll be shocked if you truly stop and listen to what God is trying to say to you – if you allow Him to work in and through you. He will reward you with endless love and support and you also might stop worrying about what others think! So many positive side-effects!

Listening to Christian radio (again, I LOOOOVE WBGL) is a great way to get a direct line to God while you’re out and about. This series is going to help me with providing examples of great songs that play on my favorite station… Hopefully, I’ll recruit a few new followers to the cause of Christian music. You’ll be surprised just how talented the artists are and how addicting the music can be.

So, the first post is going to be coming up soon! Now that I’m completely past the stomach bug from last week (yuuuuuuuuuuck), I should be able to post more regularly again… I’ve been eyeing a few songs and deciding which I will share first… So, stay tuned!

Thanks and God bless!

Britanny

Leave a Reply

