Musical Muse: Even If

God when you choose to leave mountains unmoveable, give me the strength to be able to sing, ‘It is well with my soul’

So, Friday morning, I was hustling and bustling around the house, trying to maintain the chaos that can come from chasing around two little ones… You know how it is! And I got a message from Ernesto asking if I had heard this song yet… So, as soon as I was able, I sat down and looked it up on YouTube. I’m really glad I did – thank you, husband!

Mercy Me is an amazing band. They’re the kind of band I mentioned in my Musical Muse intro post… They have MANY hits and have been around for a few years (or 15+). So, it’s not surprising that they made this powerful song. While it may not be surprising, it’s still incredibly moving – you can actually hear the raw emotion in the vocals… If you haven’t heard it yet, check it out now…

I could listen to this song over and over… And I’ll admit, I’m a nut… so I have. Ha! But it’s just so good!

There are a lot of stereotypes and expectations that many make about Christians and Christianity in general… And some of these, we actually impose on ourselves. I’d be lying if I didn’t say that for the longest time, I thought that having doubts, fears, and struggles with my faith meant that I wasn’t a good Christian. I even went so far as to believe that having those fears and doubts was a sin. Now, as I’m advancing in my understanding of the Bible and my relationship with God is getting more intimate, I realize how foolish that way of thinking was. Having fears and struggling with your faith doesn’t make you a bad Christian. It is what you do in the face of those fears and struggles that show who you truly are. I love this song because they are talking about how they are struggling, even though their job – literally their livelihood – involves ministering to others through music… It’s every Christian’s responsibility to minister in their own way… And I can completely relate to the feeling of being frustrated or like I don’t have the strength to be a positive example for others who are also struggling… This song is so inspiring because even in the face of whatever adversity they are facing, they still trust in God – clinging to Jesus.

There are SO MANY good messages in this song. Whether or not God chooses to move mountains or solve the problems in our lives, He is good and faithful. We must continue to trust Him and praise Him, for even if he chooses to do nothing in our moments of trouble, He has already done everything for us by sending His son to live and die for us.

The chorus talks about how God can save – even in fire – and even though He may choose not to, He should still be our hope. This is in reference to the story of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in Daniel 3. The trio gets in hot water with the King of Babylon because they will not worship his gods or the gold idol he built. Instead, they defiantly state that they don’t need to defend themselves. They go on to say that even if the king throws them into the fire, their God will save them. But even if he chooses not to save them, they refused to serve the king’s gods or worship his idol. Obviously, this really made the king angry, because he bound them and threw them into a fiery furnace…………. Now, this story has a happy ending! The king is amazed to see FOUR men standing in the fire, rather than the three that were originally thrown in… When Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego came out of the fire, they were unharmed, and seemingly untouched by the flames… Wouldn’t that have been amazing to see?

So, returning to the song, the chorus speaks of knowing that God is able and can do anything, but even if He chooses to do nothing, we should remain faithful, even when held to the flames. This can be very difficult to do, but remember, it’s ok to have moments of weakness. God doesn’t expect for us to be perfect. He is good and loves us enough to have sacrificed his precious son in order to save our eternal souls. I might get repetitive in mentioning that, but… well… it’s kind of important to remember! That’s A LOT of love.

To wrap up, I just want to say that I really like how they tied in the hymnal, “It Is Well with My Soul”… That’s a song with its own tragic history, but the idea of having a faith that cannot be destroyed, no matter what horrible things may happen to you, is beautiful and inspiring….

Anywho… I’m off for now! I hope you enjoyed the song as much as I did. Let me know what you thought! OR give me ideas of more songs I should look into…

Thanks and God bless!

Britanny

Leave a Reply

