Musical Muse: Drops In The Ocean

“If you want to see how much you mean to me…
Look at my hands…
Look at my sides…”

“Today, I’m sharing another song that speaks to my soul. Sometimes, I can’t help but wonder… How much do I mean to God? Scripture tells us that we mean everything to Him. So much so that He sacrificed His son for us. And I work very hard to be positive, but I still have moments of weakness when I don’t always feel deserving of His love and forgiveness. So, this song speaks to me in those moments of questioning and doubt. Check out the lyrical video below!

To be loved as we are, imperfect – it’s a wonderful reality! You might occasionally feel the instinct to put up walls or to harden your heart, even though you know it’s wrong. God doesn’t want you to hurt. He wants to help you! Your suffering is His suffering. He wants you to know that no matter what you’ve been through, no matter how hardened your heart has been, no matter how much you may have doubted Him – whatever it is that’s causing you pain… As soon as you turn your face to Him and ask for His forgiveness and love, He will be there in an instant. In fact, He’s been there all along.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.”

– 1 John 1:9

I love the comparison of His ability to forgive us to the number of drops in the ocean. Our ability to understand things is finite. We cannot truly understand infinite concepts. God’s love for us is infinite. As humans, we know how vast and immense the oceans are – to count the drops in the ocean would be impossible! I just love the comparison… it’s easier for our limited minds to comprehend. No matter how many mistakes and bad decisions we make in our lifetime, if we seek forgiveness, we will find it.

10806269_10152884268468432_4379279759593351156_n

I also enjoy the example the song provides that we can look to when we wonder how important we are to Him… “Look at my hands… Look at my sides.” A reminder of the ultimate sacrifice that He made for us – the truest act of love and forgiveness. How can there be any question of our importance to Him when He willingly took the punishment for the sins of all mankind?

 


So, I hope you liked the song and the message. Hawk Nelson has quite a few other hits as well! Check them out!

Let me know what you thought and give me some recommendations of your favorite songs.

Thanks and God bless!

Britanny

 

 

Leave a Reply

